Skip to content

The Advent Conspiracy

December 3, 2009
tags:

I love this video because it points out that materialism is not only distracting from what Christmas is really about, but that it is antithetical to the story of God becoming human. If Jesus’ birth was about shedding divine power and “taking the very nature of a servant, being made in human likeness,” but we celebrate it by mass accumulation of stuff, shouldn’t that make us think twice?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. ninjanurse permalink
    December 6, 2009 7:03 pm

    I pretty much go into hiding around this time of year. It’s cold, it’s dark, and I hate crowds and waiting in line.
    But I don’t want to be a total scrooge. Maybe I’ll find something good to do for the season.
    Happy Solstice.

  2. adrienne permalink
    December 7, 2009 5:12 pm

    Thanks for reminding me about this one, Meg! I tried to get my church to do it last year but I was too late. Maybe this year.

Leave a comment