Skip to content

Worth Your Time: Podcast Edition

March 18, 2011

Roving Bandit just posted an excellent list of podcasts, to which I would add a few more:

  • Back To Work, produced by 5by5, is a series of conversations about work ethic, productivity, creativity, innovation, and just plain life between Merlin Mann and Dan Benjamin. I can’t recommend this strongly enough — these guys are brilliant, inspiring, practical, and absolutely hilarious. I never thought I’d be taking work advice from a San Francisco techie who hates email, but they’ve already helped me rethink my role as a manager, boss, and (hopefully) creative professional.
  • This American Life. You’re already listening to it, as you should be. Enough said.
  • PRI’s The World: How We Got Here is smart and engaging. I liked their episode about Women in Egypt, and December’s A Rope and a Prayer made me cry.
  • The New Yorker podcasts are excellent, especially Out Loud.
  • Skeptoid discusses pop-culture science and psychology; fun and interesting.

If nothing else though, please just go download Back to Work — you’ll love it.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2011 7:26 am

    Thanks for the suggestions. I also never miss On Being: http://being.publicradio.org/. And if you like This American Life, I recommend, RadioLab: http://www.radiolab.org/. Enjoy!

    • March 19, 2011 3:50 am

      I absolutely love On Being as well, but I’ve never heard of RadioLab before. Subscribed now. Thank you!

  2. March 18, 2011 10:03 am

    Back to Work is excellent. I haven’t heard anything on it that sounded like bad advice. If you like Merlin’s brand of humor I would suggest listening to “You Look Nice Today” as well.

    • March 19, 2011 3:49 am

      I’ve been meaning to get to it, but your suggestion is the push I needed to download YLNT. Thanks Chris!

Leave a Reply

