Skip to content

Worth Your Time

September 20, 2010

Being a Feminist Mom at Viva la Feminista:

Being a feminist mom isn’t just about banning Barbies and all things pink. It’s about raising a strong, intelligent and caring child who says fuck you to gender roles…

Being a feminist mom means that I must continue to live my life to show her that being a mom isn’t the only role women were born to do. She knows that I love her without limits, but she also knows that mommy travels for work.

Being a feminist mom means finding that weird middle ground between having my daughter be the center of my life, but not my entire life…

Being a feminist mom also means doing all of this and preparing for the day when she tells me that she hated it all. When she tells me that she wishes I had just stayed home and made cookies. Then telling her, sorry baby, but that wasn’t and isn’t who I am. And hoping that she’ll still love me more than I love her…as she likes to remind me.

Facing Double Discrimination: Cambodian Lesbians are Breaking the Silence (By the way, this is the first media I have ever seen about lesbians here!):

Noy Sitha, 58, is an outreach volunteer for Women’s Network for Unity, a collective of sex workers, lesbians, and garment workers in Phnom Penh. Sitha shares with me how she was discriminated against at her workplace, “I worked at the Department of Classical Arts and they would only let me speak on the radio. One of the reasons they did not let me perform visually is because of my masculine appearance. I did not wear skirts.”

Pheang Sanh, 57, identifies as a lesbian, but like many Cambodian lesbians believes she is both male and female. “In my previous life, I was a girl and I died at age seven. My previous parents did not love me as a daughter, so when I died, they wrapped me with a red mat and left me on the base of Rang (name of tree), located in a stream. My spirit cried silently and wished that if I could be born again, I would be a boy whom my parents love,” she says.

How to Save Women’s Lives – lessons from Sierra Leone, reflections on what is working (and what isn’t) in the first five months of free healthcare for pregnant women and children from the Minister of Reproductive Health (how cool is it that they have a Minister of Reproductive Health?!):

Here are some of our lessons.

First: Don’t wait to provide free healthcare. Just start. You can never prepare everything to start a system of free healthcare. Everything will not be in place. In fact, free healthcare has actually allowed us an opportunity to fix things that plagued our system as we go, like payroll and drug inventory issues – a chance that we wouldn’t have had otherwise.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

