Skip to content

Wednesday Poetry: Doing What There Is To Do and Something Else To — A Hymn From the Moon

December 16, 2009

I left the curtains open last night
in hopes that our bright moon
would make her way, my way
Finally she came,
shining her search light into my room.
The sky, cobalt and blackberry blue
With black leave patterns silhouettes
from bay, wild grape and ancient oak
framed her presence
she illumined the room with
warm lilac light, bathing me in moon dust,
and millions of others at the same time
who may be seeking her moon medicine.
It was too early, but she woke me
so that I might be at attention.
I listened intently.
Saying morning prayers.
For as long a I can remember
the moon has inspired prayers
moon, after all, was my first word
and her presence used to excite me
to no end, as I sat atop the shoulders
of the one who showed her to me,
saying moon moon moon,
(the finger pointing at the moon)
my family still remembers
how I said, it, and tells me,
it sounded something like
muen muen muen!
And this morning as I listened
watched, waited, adjusted
pillows for moon gazing
her glow glowing on my face
the questions came
not as barbs of prompting
but as sweet cakes of wonder.
What do you really want?
How do you really want to spend time?
What is really important to you now?
What do you really want to create?
Knowing what you know.
Doing what you have been doing.
Now that you have done so much
Of what you said you wanted to do
What is next?
Don’t just let it continue to unfold
And be at circumstance of previous planning
Cause the next thing.
Plan the next dance.
Listen for the next line.
Today like every day,
you can choose to wake up
and do what there is to do
or you can do that,
and something else too.
That is how we, who are visionary (i.e. busy bees)
will continue to create:
By doing what there is to do
and something else too.
What is the something else too?
For you?
Then, the moon, she passed by my white lace curtain
and left me to write by candlelight.
Location: Casa De Vida – Room of My Own, White writing desk.
Pink Rose in blue vase. 5 am November 3, 2009
Dry Creek Valley, Healdsburg, California
Adornment: Pink Pajamas
Grandmother Helen’s turquoise shall on my shoulders
And Grandmother Eden’s pink blankie on my knees.
She hated pink, so this blanket, means, she loved me

Shiloh Sophia McCloud

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

