Skip to content

Best of 2009

December 14, 2009

I just discovered Gwen Bell’s Best of 2009 Blog Challenge, which is basically a list of 30 questions that encourage reflection on the last year, to complete in December. (Year long Examen, anyone?) It reminds me of Since I’m just starting now, I don’t know if I’ll get to all 30 of them, but it’s been a big year, and there’s much to think about and give thanks for, so without further ado:

What’s an article that you read that blew you away?

Without a doubt, Melissa McEwan’s Rape Culture 101. I talk about it all the time, forward it to everyone I know, and go back to it time and time again. When I can’t bring myself to define rape culture one more time, to explain how our culture socially sanctions violence against women in a myriad of ways, or to connect the dots between offensive advertising, sexist articles, and brutal attacks, this is where I go. I can’t recommend it highly enough, and I strongly encourage you to take the time to read it, with a warning that it could be triggering for some people.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

