Skip to content

Transition 2009

July 16, 2009

After a few weeks away, I was back at BC yesterday to see a friend for lunch, check some books out of the library, stop by a professor’s office, and spend the evening hanging out at the apartment where many of my closest friends live. I saw a few tour groups of prospective students and felt the familiar urge to run up and say “Come here!! Come here!! We’re racist and sexist and homophobic just like most other communities, but if you meet the right professors and hang out with the coolest people, you’ll have all the tools to analyze those things! And you can study abroad! And we have Jesuits! And look how beautiful it is! This place will change you!”

Linden Lane

 BC in the summer is gorgeous, and it’s hard for me to walk around campus without a little bit of heartache. Was sticking around for the summer a good idea? I didn’t have much of a choice, because I had to make money to cover my insurance and travel expenses while I’m in Cambodia. And honestly, as sad as it can be to hang out around my school and realize that my time there has come to an end, I’m really grateful for these few months around Boston. My friends and I named this summer “Transition 2009,” knowing that there was no way we wanted to say goodbye to Boston, our college life, and all of our friends on the same day, so as much as possible, people are in and around Chestnut Hill for the summer. Slowly, I’m trying to let go of the idea that BC is home, because as beautiful as it is, as many Jesuits as we have, and as comfortable as I was in this community, I have a new home calling to me in Battambang. Time to start packing!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

